Stop Procrastinating, Get Off Your Butt And Start Writing

In my post On Silence And Creativity, I discussed how silence is a much needed commodity to ensure creativity and motivate you to get things done. A bit of isolation and silence can really open up your mind, let you introspect and analyse every part of your life. Solitude is sometimes viewed by many as an incredibly joyful experience, as Maria Popova writes eloquently in her post How To Do Nothing with Nobody All Alone by Yourself: A Timely Vintage Field Guide to Self-Reliant Play and Joyful Solitude.

Silence and solitude aside, with enough practice and inspiration, you can be creative anywhere, anytime. The practice part is what James Altucher tries to invoke in his great article-cum-challenge Can You Do One Page A Day?. Procrastination, a lack of motivation and a feeling of not reaching your goals is what stops most of us from writing.

I’m not of the opinion that everyone is to become a great writer by practising writing everyday. There are several other benefits to writing daily: you can express yourself much better through written words, you can analyse your day if you write a journal, which also sort of clears up your mind. Also, it’s fun to read how your day was a year ago.

Starting today, you just need to decide not to procrastinate anymore. I’ve procrastinated more than I should have. I’ve missed opportunities and deadlines, broken the trust and responsibility people have placed on me. But I’m willing to change, and I invite you to change with me. Stop putting off the things that matter to you. Start writing that book you’ve always wanted to: just a page today. Start learning that instrument you’ve always wanted to play. Start a daily gym routine and get your health back. But start it today!

I plan to write daily starting November 1, which coincides with the NaBloPoMo (NAtional BLOg POsting MOnth), which you should definitely join, if you want to hone your writing skills and fill your blog with content. So starting November 1, I’m kicking off my old habits, getting into the habit of writing daily and I’ll be in the NaBloPoMo. I hope to see you there! Even better, I hope to see you get off your butt, get out there and acheive your goals.

PS: If you’re really motivated and wish to write a 50,000 word novel, check out NaNoWriMo (NAtional NOvel WRIting MOnth), which also begins November 1.

3 thoughts on “Stop Procrastinating, Get Off Your Butt And Start Writing

Leave a Reply

