‘Wet In The Rain’: A Haiku For Those Rainy Days

It just rained here where I live. It is unusual for it to rain at this time of the year. The drizzling rain brought back joyful memories and depressing thoughts. Rain is one of the few things that can elicit such an ambiguous response in us: it brings positive and negative feelings.

Trust me, I love the rains. The parched Earth is cooled again, greenery spreads around and I just love the petrichor.

But the grey gloomy clouds and the dull-coloured skies remind of those days when life just doesn’t seem worth living. It’s this negative response that I usually hate. I want to enjoy the rains, but a part of me hates how I get wet all over and cold and get mud on my shoes.

And so, when it rained today, I sat down and I wrote this haiku.

The rains come again
Drizzling, pouring it out and
Leave me happy and wet.

If it isn’t clear yet, the three final words display my ambiguity regarding the rains: I’m both happy and sad simultaneously.

You can check out more of my haikus at Zen Of Haiku, if you wish. Now it’s your turn: what do you feel like when it rains? Do you love the rains? Or do you hate it? Let me know. 🙂

PS: In fact, I challenge you to come up with something on rain. Or maybe any other season that you like, maybe summer or autumn. Write a poem, haiku or even an esaay on it. Now that the NaBloPoMo is coming up, it’s a great time to get your creative hats on!

Leave a Reply

