Why Do You Blog, You Statwhore?

Why do you blog, you statwhore?

This was what I asked myself today morning.

I woke up and found myself checking my blog stats. I did not think twice, I did it on an impulse.

And so I thought, why?

Am I more concerned with traffic to my blog than the content I publish here? Sure, stats are important, they let you know where your visitors are from, what kind of posts get more traction. But these are useful metrics only if you’re a publishing house or a media company.

But for a personal blog posting thoughts and observations, what is the use of stats?

Why do I blog? To share my thoughts, with no one in particular. It’s my piece of the Web. I do not need stats or other metrics. All I need to do is post quality thoughts here everyday.

But a little self-evaluation later, I found that I joined NaBloPoMo to drive more traffic; if I posted daily, maybe I would have more visitors. Spoken like a true hypocrite. So, starting today, I will no longer check my stats; I shall only focus on making this blog the most accurate representation of my thoughts and my intellectual life.

5 thoughts on “Why Do You Blog, You Statwhore?

  1. I think no matter what, everyone is a statwhore. We want to know who’s viewing our sites and how many, just hoping that more eyes viewed our content today than yesterday. I try not to look at them either, but it’s impossible not to! I guess the important thing to remember is that views don’t necessarily equate success. Success is based on more than numbers. Good luck with continuing your NaBloPoMo journey! 🙂

    Like

    1. Seeing as I just logged in to WP to see if anyone had looked at my poetry in the last hour, I so agree with you about asking the question “why am I writing?” I’d love to believe it was for the beauty of writing and not for the likes or views. *Sigh. Good luck with avoiding stat whoredom; I’m afraid I’m already there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

