I Spent Time With Fanboys!

There’s something about fanboys that really intrigues and irritates people. Maybe it’s the fact that you don’t really ‘get’ them. It’s similar to how grownups (and yours truly) cannot understand Snapchat. Being part of a fanboy clique is exciting and it feels great to have a community to talk about it with, looking at you /r/starwars and /r/kingfallsam. But it’s only when you distance yourself a bit, zoom out and look at things from the outside, that you realize how annoying fanboys can be.

Case in point, most fanboys of Christopher Nolan, at least here in India. Nolan has a bit of a reputation for making mindfuck movies, creating multiple narratives and timelines that seem disjointed, but are all connected parts of a greater symphony. Just take a look at Memento, The Prestige, Inception and Interstellar. That ‘pattern’ seems to have spiraled out of control, since almost all these fanboys expect the same trope in every one of his movies. Nevertheless, it’s fanboys of all sorts, especially the half-informed and fully ignorant ones that drive most of us crazy.

So this happened last week when I went to watch ‘Dunkirk’. What ruined the experience for me were the two wannabe fanboys by my side. Fanboys in the traditional sense that they’d watched almost every film by Scorcese/Fincher/Tarantino/Spielberg/Nolan and exhibited their sapiosexuality through the Quora and TED apps on their phones. Now, I don’t want to come off as being a hardass on two kids youngsters/peers whom I didn’t even know, so I’ll just condense the whole experience.

This is what the jerk in front of me looked like as he recorded the opening shot to impress his friends.

Dude 1 and Dude 2 were in discussion about Tarantino movies (Looking at my last post, it seems Quentin Tarantino is now a common fixture on my blog), when Dude 1 remarked that his favourite Tarantino movie was ‘The Hateful Eight’. Dude 2 wasn’t having any of this. For him, it wasn’t ‘The Hateful Eight’, but ‘Unglorious Bastards’. Yes, he said that. Unglorious. I would have interrupted their conversation to point out the glaring mistake if I wasn’t so busy facepalming like I’d never facepalmed before. So trailers and commercials come and go before us on the screen and the discussions veer off to other topics. I should probably point out now that I wasn’t actively eavesdropping on their conversation, rather, their discussion was all I could hear.

This discussion of their came to an end when the trailer for ‘Justice League’ came on. After a ceremonial boo-ing at the DC logo, they sat in fervent worship and adoration of Marvel. Dude 2 starts spouting out about how Odin is the father of Thor, which for some strange reason, Dude 1 was unaware of.

Dude 2: So yeah, Odin is an important character in the Marvel Universe. He is Thor’s dad, and a God. Did you know that Odin isn’t just in the comics? He’s an actual God in Greek mythology. The Greeks worshipped him and his son, Thor as well.

Dude 1: What about Loki, then?

Dude 2: Oh no, he wasn’t part of the Greek mythology. He was made by Marvel as a villain for Thor.

Dude 1: That’s so rad!

Me: (Probably dead from facepalming too hard)

So why did I not speak up and clear the misconceptions they had? For one, it isn’t polite to eavesdrop. And if you do, it’s not sensible to reveal that you have. Secondly, I’m shy. Incredibly shy. And that’s how my shyness came back to bite me in the ass.

Nevertheless, I did manage to get them to shut up once the movie started, or more accurately, they did it themselves. It’s always a pleasure watching Christopher Nolan work seamlessly with Hans Zimmer, like the Dynamic Duo they are. The visuals shot by Nolan and the steadily rising music of Zimmer’s organs will guarantee that you’re on the edge of your seat, your heart pounding in anticipation of what will happen next. That’s enough spoiling, I guess.


If you’ve somehow managed to reach this point and not fall asleep, consider liking my Facebook page. You won’t find any wholesome memes, but you will find occasional updates and links to all my posts. And bad jokes.

Image courtesy: SplitShire on Pixabay.

5 thoughts on “I Spent Time With Fanboys!

  1. My only complaint with fanboys is when they don’t let the other side speak, other than that, I’m cool.

    There’s certain games I’m fanboyish too, lol I’m not a fanboy to consoles anymore. And, I’m not a fanboys to directors or Marvel/DC. Both comics is good in there own right.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Joseph. Haha, yeah it’s all pretty cool with fanboys. I don’t really have any complaints with them, except when they go off into long speeches that are just inaccurate and rife with errors. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Enjoyed reading this blog. I hadn’t heard of fanboys but I know what they are now so will look out for them next time I am out! I am also new to the phrase face-palm and I think I get it it-just to check-Is it the whole palm to whole face ie hiding one’s dismay or is it the palm, sort of smacking the forehead, Indian-style?

    I feel that if Quentin Tarantino is mentioned in a blog, then job done, really. I am going to shoe-horn in here, that my top three QT movies have to be Pulp Fiction, Kill Bill and probably, Inglorious Basterds, apologies, I know you didn’t ask. And while I am at it, I am not a fan of the cameo roles by which QT inserts himself into his films. Bit cringe.

    But really, great blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Nia,
      Thanks for taking the time to read. I’m glad you liked what you read. Yeah fanboys are everywhere and they’re a pretty interesting bunch, though some turn out to be just show-offs without much love for the fandom. You’re kind of correct with regards to facepalm. It’s usually done when someone says or does something stupid or questions the obvious. I found this GIF that shows you what a facepalm is. http://goo.gl/6GfbHD

      No need for apologies! πŸ˜… My favorite Tarantino movies are Pulp Fiction, Inglorious Basterds and Reservoir Dogs. Yes, his cameos do seem a bit shoe horned in, but I absolutely love the one in Pulp Fiction. It’s relevant to the plot and I liked how well he displayed the annoyance of his character.

      Thanks for checking my blog out! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Akhil. Enjoyed the GIF! I was going to say ‘except for the coffee cameo’. We often quote those lines ‘ I don’t need you to tell me how * good my coffee is…’ or ‘…you know what’s on my mind right now, it ain’t the coffee …’ Thanks πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

