On Anonymous Blogging

I guess, at one point or another, almost every blogger has had these thoughts in their minds. And you nailed it down to the last word. The constant filtering that we tend to do, the amount of care we put into maintaining our brand and being consistent, it just takes us away from the main goal of writing: self-expression. Instead, as you said, we’re more self-conscious now. Or selfie-conscious.

Tiny Rubies

typewriter

It’s the mid-noughties. I’m at university, London is blowing my mind, and I’m tapping away on my LiveJournal like my life depends on it. I’m documenting all of my experiences, preserving them through writing, and reading the blog posts of strangers around the world doing the same. I’m reading (and writing) about breakups, sex, mixtapes, road trips, family drama, and beautiful vignettes about places visited, or wild nights out, or a feeling.

I treated my LiveJournal as a kind of late night confessional, a place to process and unpick and get things off my chest. There was no Twitter, no Instagram, no Snapchat back then. Facebook was just taking off, the wifi connection in our halls of residence was patchy at best, and everyone still spent hours creating MySpace layouts. People didn’t think about ‘managing’ their online presence. Anonymity still had value on the internet, in fact it was the…

View original post 485 more words

Leave a Reply

